A Portable, yet Graphical way to PING


Network Utility

Network Utility (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

If you are a Blackberry user, and you see the topic of this post, what first comes to mind? Blackberry Messenger? Well, you’re wrong today, because this is the traditional PING. In fact, graphical ping – getting more out of ping.

obama-PING

PING!!!

According to Wikipedia.org, a PING (short for Packet INternet Groper) is a computer network administration utility used to test the reachability of a host on an Internet Protocol (IP) network and to measure the round-trip time for messages sent from the originating host to a destination computer. Okay, that’s a mouthful. A ping is simply used to check whether another computer on a network is alive and reachable, just like saying hello and expecting a reply. So in Blackberry terms, a ping is just like telling someone hello. [You can compare this to a Facebook Poke].

The Challenge

For network administrators and hobbyists like me, the command line ping may not be enough. The traditional ping.exe cannot ping multiple hosts at the same time; it is not graphical either.  And traditional Windows OS does not have a GUI ping facility. And I desperately needed portability.  There are products like nmap, angry IP scanner, ipscan, total network monitor, look@lan, hover ip, fing, etc, but they do not seem to satisfy my needs. What then do I do?

The Solution

After searching for tools online, I came across a pretty simple tool that fit just perfect – PSWEEP.

PSweep (by Digitalblast) is a a handy and LLIGHTWEIGHT application that can detect active IP addresses. It is PORTABLE (it comes bundled with files like comdlg32.ocx and mscomctl.ocx necessary for execution); It can resolve IP addresses to host names, you can set it to ping a list of IPs in a text file, and you can save the results for viewing later.

You can download psweep at softpedia, or alternatively from this direct link.

Please do not forget to leave a comment, or tweet at me @kcemenike.

11 thoughts on “A Portable, yet Graphical way to PING

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyhow, superb blog!

  2. I would like to express thanks to this writer for bailing me out of this particular issue. As a result of looking through the search engines and seeing techniques which are not helpful, I believed my life was over. Existing without the presence of answers to the problems you’ve sorted out through this site is a serious case, as well as the kind which may have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t encountered your blog post. That understanding and kindness in playing with a lot of things was crucial. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a solution like this. I can also at this time look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your high quality and results-oriented guide. I won’t be reluctant to propose the sites to anybody who will need support about this topic.

  3. I just want to say I am very new to blogging and site-building and really liked this web-site. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You certainly come with good well written articles. Thank you for sharing with us your web page.

  4. You have very nice blog here. Only one thing what I noticed, it was very hard to find it from google (at least with my search term). You should try this: [link removed by moderator] It will get you better ranking in google. I use it all my wp blogs.If you have any problems to use it, just send me email and I try to help. If you dont have wp, check this out: [link removed by moderator]

Have your say here