TUTORIAL: Stop those annoying “Sent from my Blackberry” signatures


Most times we use our smartphones to send emails, and sometimes our work emails are configured on these devices. In the era of the Bring Your Own Device (BYOD), this is usually the case. We can now reply emails on the go, and offer support and assistance from the comfort of our homes. This is a great idea, but there is a slight annoyance that smartphone users usually ignore, and since, to me, it has become an issue of concern, I have to speak my mind.

The “Sent from my mobile device”  I see on most emails I receive these days is increasingly becoming annoying. In fact, according to LifeHacker.com, it is the worst email annoyance you should avoid, and I certainly agree.

A few responses to this annoyance that I’ve picked from the post are below

“Sent from my iPhone” may as well say “I don’t know how to change my settings, or am too pretentious to try”

“Sent from my iPhone / bb” always makes me think I’m only worth a quick note on a phone. It doesn’t look professional.

So, if you are an offender in this ‘”etiquette” of email messaging, you can easily rectify this by following these very easy steps. Since blackberry already has done a help document on this I won’t dwell on the details.

Here we go;

How to customize your email signature for a BlackBerry Internet Service-integrated email address

To modify the email signature of an email address that is integrated with the BlackBerry Internet Service, complete the following steps:

If you are using BlackBerry Device Software 4.2 to 5.0:

  • On the home screen, select Email
  • If required, log in to access your BlackBerry Internet Service account
  • Highlight the email address you would like to customize, then press the Menu key and select Edit
  • Specify your new signature and click Save to save the change.

If you are using a BlackBerry 6-enabled smartphone:

  • On the home screen, select Setup
  • Select Email Accounts
  • Select Internet Mail Account
  • If required, log in to access your BlackBerry Internet Service account
  • Highlight the email address you would like to customize, then press the Menu key and select Edit
  • Specify your new signature and click Save to save the change.

Please next time don’t make your boss think you are too lazy to reply his mail properly or too lazy to use a proper signature.

I guess that’s all for now. If you run into any hiccups, or you have any suggestions, just leave a comment below

And err… Today’s my twenty-something’th birthday!!! So start rolling in the gifts my friends

3 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Stop those annoying “Sent from my Blackberry” signatures

Have your say here

