Offline blogging for bloggers: Windows Live Writer


Windows Live Writer

Windows Live Writer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I love sharing ideas. And that is why I set up this blog – to share ideas and solutions to problems I encounter. There are a couple of blogging platforms available, including BlogSpot (by Google), WordPress, TypePad, etc.

The Problem

Sometimes, though, as a blogger, I may have some things to share, but I may be offline and unable to access the WordPress new post page (In a society like mine, being always online is really big luxury). I could use a formatted text editor like Microsoft Word or Open Office to do this, but what if I wanted to have the feel of my cool WordPress theme? What if I wanted an option to, instead of copying and pasting into the webpage (and probably lose formatting), I could edit this post “as it is”? These questions I asked myself until I came across Microsoft Windows Live Writer.

The Solution

Windows Live Writer, developed by Microsoft, is a desktop blog-publishing application that is part of the Windows Live range of products. It features WYSIWYG authoring, photo-publishing and map-publishing functionality, and is currently compatible with Windows Live Spaces, SharePoint blogs, Blogger, LiveJournal, TypePad, WordPress, Telligent Community, PBlogs.gr, JournalHome, the MetaWeblog API, the Movable Type API, Blogengine, Squarespace, and all blogs that support RSD (Really Simple Discoverability).

Okay! If the last paragraph got boring too easily (did I tell u I copied it verbatim from Wikipedia?), I’ll just summarize as this: Windows Live Writer helps you post content to your blog offline without an internet connection, and you can publish it later when you go online.

Why do I love WLW?

Asides from the fact that Windows Live Writer is a product of Microsoft, a trusted brand, here a a few other reasons why I love WLW.

WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get)

The fact that it gives me the feel of my blog ‘as it is’ is one thing I really love to see. I can make it look exactly like my blog theme, and even update it anytime I change the theme online. In fact  I am writing this with WLW.

It is free

All you have to do is download and install from Windows Live website, and you are good to go.

Many more added features.

WLW comes with lots of features like image upload, video upload, tags, categories, map location, and emoticons. But not just that, you can also download plugins designed by developers, and there is a ton of great plugins available. I must particularly commend Scott Lovegrove @scottisafool for his contribution to the WLW platform.

How do I install WLW?

Just head over to their website and download Windows Live Essentials. It comes bundled with Windows Live Family and Safety, Movie Maker, Photo Gallery, Windows Live Messenger, and Windows Live Writer.

clip_image002

You may even have WLW without even knowing you already do. It came preinstalled in my OEM HP Mini. Maybe it’s the same way in yours.

To check if you have WLW pre-installed in your PC, just type “live writer” (without quotes) in your windows search bar. If the result is “Go Online to get Windows Live Essentials”, you don’t have WLW and you would need to download it yourself. Don’t worry it’s just a little over a hundred megabytes.

image

Now that you have downloaded and installed Windows Live Writer, you can go on with the initial setup (you need to be online to successfully do this). This includes signing in with your blog credentials, and updating your theme. It always asks if you want to send a temporary post to your blog. You should select “No” if you already have followers via email (of course you don’t want to clutter their inbox with unnecessary mails, do you?) Otherwise you could click “Yes” to send the temporary post for blog theme testing.

image

If you have a Windows Live Account, you can configure the blog to automatically post each blog post to your Live Account. Once the initial setup is complete, you no longer need an internet connection to write. (I like to call it more like Write Now, Post Later)

I guess that’s all for now, you could head over to WLW and start blogging!

 

How do you blog? Do you use the built-in online-dependent WordPress editor? Or do you use other offline blog editors? Are you a WLW fan like me? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

And you can follow my train of thought via twitter @kcemenike or subscribe to my blog posts via email.

Cheers

 

7 thoughts on “Offline blogging for bloggers: Windows Live Writer

  1. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text within your post appear to be running off the screen in Internet explorer. I’m not certain if this really is a format problem or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know. The design and style look fantastic though! Hope you get the concern fixed soon. Kudos

  2. Just keep building them to establish a great residual income.
    It also helps in entrenching your authenticity and authority in your particular niche.

    0 is a great site that has a 60 day risk free money back guarantee.

Have your say here

